Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

“Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Spoiler Alert: is everything.”

5 Stars.18692431
I think that the cover is beautiful. And the art displayed on this book is pretty cool! By the way, I have SPOILERS, like lots of them.

You see, the girl, the protagonist, Maddy, is sick, she’s really sick. Like if she goes outside, she dies kind of sick. Her life is normal and boring as a life can be, but that changes when she meets her new neighbor, Olly. They fall in love with each other, and her mom finds out about this and doesn’t let Maddy see Olly anymore, and then Maddy gets angry and runs away from the house with Olly, to Hawaii no less.

Over there things went so well that I was so scared to get to the part where everything goes wrong, so I stopped reading because I was afraid that the happy moment wasn’t going to last long; however after like two hours I took the book up again and finished reading the story.

It turns out that Maddy gets sick in Hawaii but not because of the disease her mother made Maddy believe she had, but because some other weird thing. And well Maddy finds out she’s never been sick, is more of her mother keeping her safe from the world in the room, because she lost her husband and son in accident. When Maddy and I found out about this, we went crazy, I mean she was locked up in her house for 18 years, is like putting a child in a jail for being alive.

The way Maddy took it, was to be honest really perfect, because I would’ve gone nuts!!! I would’ve scream to my mom, and then I would leave the house and never come back home, or at least I would go and then come back 18 years later, just to let her know how much it hurt, she took all her adolescent life away, without mentioning her childhood and everything else. But besides everything that went wrong in her life, she stayed with Olly. I was so happy when she went after him, like go get him girl!!

“THE LITTLE PRINCE BY ANTOINE DE SAINT-EXUPERY. Spoiler Alert: love is worth everything. Everything.”

“I’m alive and don’t want to be,” -Maddy.

“Love is a terrible thing and I want nothing to do with it,” -Maddy.

“Love can kill you and I’d  rather be alive than out there living,” -Maddy. 

2 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

