Me Before You By Jojo Moyes

5/5 stars
I have no words to describe the feelings I have for this book. Scratch that, I have too many. I mean why? There are some books that come to you and you forget their story as soon as you finish reading it; but there are books that when you are in the first page you just can’t let go, and when you are done the story stays with you forever. Me Before You was the exact same thing for me. I wish I’d never read it, but at the same time I couldn’t read it sooner. This is the type of story that I wish I haven’t read, but that I still can’t understand how did I take to long to start it. I read in one night, literally started at 12 am, and by 5 am I was done. Imagine my boss’ face when I got to work all red eyed and with dark circles under my eyes–he thought someone died–if only he knew.

Jojo Moyes is another author that I’ll keep under the heartbreaking category, along side with John Green, Veronica Roth, Markus Zusak,C. J. Roberts, Colleen Hoover, etc.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.” -Jojo Moyes.

When I started this book, I’d never expected it to be like this. Heartbreaking, devastating story, with a beautiful message. Will Traynor, a really complicated man, with a past life full of life, and a devastating future, has been in a wheelchair for two years now, he needs assistance. That’s where Louisa Clark, she’s his care giver. The women is a rainbow of colors, literally. Her clothes, her life, her family–everything about her is just so bright. The story is just unbelievably amazing, it only took 5 hours to break my heart, the characters were so powerful, their emotions seem real, and they got to transfer the power of what they were feeling really well.

“I will never, ever regret the things I’ve done. Because most days, all you have are places in your memory that you can go to.” -Jojo Moyes.

I can’t pretend like this book didn’t break my heart, because it did, and I’m the type of person that will wear my heart on my sleeve, I can’t hide my emotions well enough. So I went to work the next day, people were worried. How could I tell them what really happened? I just told them a close friend of mine died. I had to come up with something.

In overall, this book will make you laugh, cry, mad, sad, joyful, and many emotions that I have no time to describe. Give it a try, you will not regret it.

 

Leave a Reply

