I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.

5/5 STARS.

SPOILER ALERT

This book was absolutely mind blowing. I loved everything about it. Noah and Jude are nothing as the character I imagined them to be. They’d impressed me. I usually don’t read books like this. At first when I picked this book, it was like

But then it shifted.

For me it was pretty incredible how the mind of the twins worked. Noah by the age of thirteen could draw galaxies with his brain, not to mention how good he was with his hands. It was unbelievable how his mind could create those worlds and how him and his sister had created situations in their brains that no thirteen or sixteen year old is able to.
When I was thirteen I wouldn’t even had one percent of the capability that the twi20820994ns have. The way that they interpret situations and life problems and transform them into some sort of a art piece. Beautiful. Just beautiful.
I like to think of both of their lives as simple art masterpieces.
Noah, he is a thirteen year old. He narrates the story around that age, and he’s going through some difficult times because of his sexuality. He is falling in love with the boy next door, but on top of that he has some issues with his best friend in the world, his sister. His sister is very popular and he isn’t. He is labeled as the weird kid. He likes to paint, he paints in his head, and every scenery that he is going through, he also paints. That’s what I like most about him. He sees the world in a different way, the way I wish I would’ve seen it when I was his age.
Then it transitions to his sister, Jude. She narrates the story at the age of sixteen, and in this part. The twin had switched papers, because of their mother’s death. She is a struggling artist that lives with lies. She has hurt so many people, especially his brother. He is no longer the way he used to be. He’s become popular and she’s the one left alone.
She got into the SCA not his brother, and she’s struggling with her presentations. In the end she has to go tutoring, with a mentor, that becomes somewhat very important in her life. His name is Guillermo Garcia. He’s tempered and always angry, but somehow he agrees to help her become better with her sculptures.
She meets Oscar Ralph, he is a very special character, because they are somehow meant to be. It’s beautiful, the way they turned out to be is just amazing.
I feel like I can’t get enough of this book. I marked every favorite part of the book, and I can’t seem to get enough. This book has so much knowledge that it blows your mind.
I definitively recommend it.

Leave a Reply

