Non-Spoiler Book Review – The Crown by Kiera Cass

4/5 stars.

Eadlyn Schreave continues her story on “The Crown” where the choices she has to make will not only dictate her future, but her present as well. Since her mother is under medical care, her father has chosen to stay by America’s side through her process; now, is Eadlyn’s duty as a princess and future Queen of Illea to take care of her family, the selection and of her country.26074181

I really enjoyed Kiera Cass’ writing style, I think it was appropriate for the “time” that the book was written on. It was simple and easy, nothing to hard to understand. This book is more clean (romance wise) than her first three books, I would definitely recommend this book to teens from 13 years old and up. I did felt like she rushed us through her story though. The characters were well described in the context of the book; however, the book itself is very short and with a lot of space between chapters–I wish she could’ve prolonged the story and give us a little bit more of description regarding the characters.

 I felt like Eadlyn’s character in this book is more humble towards everyone, and I really appreciate her change of personality. In “The Heir” she was really harsh towards everyone in her court, even her family. But in this one we get to see a change of heart–sort of. I did enjoy seeing how she acted towards the members of the council, she doesn’t take BS from anyone, and I think that is a good quality to have when you are becoming queen of a country. But, since everything that happen with her mom, her brother, and well now with the rest of the selection is good to see her more humble towards them, and I believe that her change of heart made her see who was the best choice for her on the selection.

Now, her prince consort wasn’t a surprise for me. I kind of saw that happening in “The Heir” I won’t spoil it for you, but her choice is going to blow your mind.

Overall, I gave this book a 4/5 stars just because I wish she could’ve describe better the relationship between the Eadlyn and her prince consort. I felt like she didn’t give us enough insight on their relationship–bringing the book to an end way too soon.  However, this book is short and simple, nothing overbearing and not too many issues to overcome. I would definitely recommend this series if you haven’t read it, it will consume your body, soul and mind.

If you guys want to see my YouTube book review on this book, here’s the link

Leave a Reply

