Books

Non-Spoiler Book Review | “I see London, I see France,” by Sarah Mlynowski

26117336I love travel books, just because they get to be so fun, and you get to travel with the characters in the comfort of your house. I absolutely loved Sarah’s writing, I mean as I read along Sydney and her incredible journey with her best friend Leela, I felt like I was with them every part of the way. I also enjoyed the idea that Sarah made her characters older teens. I appreciate that they were 19 to 20-year-olds kids, and not younger–not that I have anything against younger characters but in the YA world is hard to find some older ones.

Anywho, the story follows the adventures Sydney and Leela as they go through Europe on their summer adventure. Big surprise happens when Leela’s ex also shows up for the ride, and they crash into him a couple of times in the country that they were visiting. Something that irritated me though was how quickly attached Leela got to her cheating ex-boyfriend, making her “love” him once again, and then resulting in being miserable for most of the trip when things wouldn’t go her way because of whatever mood her boyfriend manage to put her in. She got moody really quickly and that the hell out of me. I honestly think that the only thing that she did was prevent Sydney from enjoying the trip even further.

I also felt bad for Sydney because her mom was at home in the U.S. and she has an illness, and she had to check on her every once in a while. And well, that kept her from enjoying the trip as well. But all of that aside, Sydney does have a great time, she meets Leela’s ex-boyfriend’s friend, and a summer fling appears that has potential into turning into something else. I would definitely recommend if you like traveling and cute summer flings!