Archives

Review : Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha, #1) : Tomi Adeyemi

Uh! I’m so excited, my best friend likes this book too. Her review is very good and I’m so upset that I didn’t get to make the connections she made when she compared the book’s kingdom to our present current U.S. government and Taylor also compared the King to our current President which I wish I could’ve thought about. Anyways, please read her review because it’s amaze balls!

FOREVER BOUND BY BOOKS

34728667Author:Tomi Adeyemi

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha, #1)

Release Date: March 6th, 2018

Format: ARC

Publisher: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers

Page Count: 448

Genre : Young Adult , Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy, Empowering

Reviewer : Taylor

Synopsis Via Goodreads

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. 

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and…

View original post 652 more words

Advertisements

Non-Spoiler Book Review, “The Museum of Heartbreak,” by Meg Leder

4/5 stars

This was an awesome cute read. College and work won’t allow me to read as much as I want to, and well, I can never find time to review books anymore, even if I end up reading them. I have so many hand written reviews that I haven’t had chance to publish them here.

21525988

Okay, back to the review, this was such a cute refreshing read. Penelope Marx is our main character and she’s very much like all of us. Or more so like me, because I don’t know how you guys are, lol. She believes in fairytales and happy endings and true love, and loves fictional boyfriends, etc. She experiences her first crush with this new kid that comes to school, and well, you can imagine how everything goes from there.

This is a story about friendship, growing apart, and then finding each other. It’s about heartbreak and unexpected love. The storyline is very interesting and the writing is cohesive and makes a lot of sense. I never felt like I got lost in the story and the book maintained a peaceful flow. I truly enjoyed reading this fluffy romance book, and I would recommend it for readers 14 and up.

Non-Spoiler Book Review | “Shuffle, Repeat,” by Jen Klein

4/5 stars

This was a beautiful book with an amazing story. I think it has DUFF and Easy A vibes. I enjoyed reading this book a lot, more than I expected, and this is my first book by this author and I’m very satisfied with it.

26067503This book follows the story of June and Oliver. June’s mom and Oliver’s mom arrange for both of them to ride together to school. June doesn’t like this arrangement, but there’s nothing she can do about it. June and Oliver know each other, or knew each other–but then they grew up, and high school happened. June believes that High School traditions are stupid and can’t wait to go to college to leave all of that stupidity behind. Oliver, on the other hand, believes that high school is all there is and that you need to make your high school years the best because you will remember them forever.

Since they have different opinions about high school, they argue most of the time, and to pass the time they listen to music on their way over to the school, hence the title. This story is full of fun, humor, lies, friendship, and future. I would recommend this story to anyone who’s having conflicting feelings about high school or college, and how two strangers can overcome anything, and find the truth in their hearts. 14 and up could read this. Enjoy!

 

 

Non-Spoiler Book Review | “The Hate U Give” by Angie Thomas

Well, this book is exactly what you expect it to be like. It talks about a situation that is very real in our lives and therefore needed addressing. And I love how this Angie Thomas used a situation and made a book for teens to be aware of what’s going on ar32075671ound them.
This book is about black lives matter movement. The main character is black and goes to an all-white-people school. Now, it is intriguing to see Starr going through all the changes that happened since the incident. I don’t know if revealing the incident is a spoiler, so I just won’t say it. However, throughout this whole book, you see her struggling, her family, her friends, her other friends–everything is falling apart for her, and you see that she suffers a lot because of it. But also, I believe is really important to that Angie showed the two sides of the perspective because you get to see the struggling cop as well, and how it affects her life–since her uncle is a cop.
This book is super important for today’s society, and I believe everyone should read it. It is a complete work of fiction, but I felt like every part of it was real.

By the way, it would mean a lot to me if you could watch my recent youtube video it talks about our most anticipated reads for the month of March, 2017. Thank you!

Non-Spoiler Book Review | “The Star-Touched Queen” by Roshani Chokshi

This book was a challenge for me, it was a slow read for me, and considering on how I can read a b25203675ook in two days or less, this one took me a while. Princess Mayavati is a really a complicated character, the story line is so complicated, and I didn’t understand most of it. It took me three days to get through the first 100 pages. But after that, the book did pick up, and honestly enough, it has sort of the same story line as “WiNTERSONG,” by S. Jae-Jones, where the main character gets married and then the rest of the story is a fight for her marriage.
I gave this book 3.5 stars. Amar was a distant character as well, I’m telling you strong Wintersong vibes. Throughout the whole book, I couldn’t get to actually know him. Was he, in the end, a demon or not? No wonder Maya did what she did to him in the almost end of the story, he wasn’t honest with her. After she gets her memories back, things become more complicated, and then Nritti was a complicated af character. I didn’t understand her at all. Now, Gauri is interesting, I want to see her in the next book, I feel that she’s going to end up with the kid that turned out to be king, and that excites me.

Non-Spoiler Book Review – “Wintersong” by S. Jae-Jones

3.5/5 stars.

24763621I don’t know, I found this book a little bit boring. I believe that the author prolonged the book too much. This is what I think about when I say that authors overwrite. However, other than that, I think that the story was nice, although a little bit longer than it needed to be, and sometimes downright boring, I did enjoy bits and pieces.
As you guys know, this book is a retelling of the labyrinth movie, back in the 1980s. Yes, there’s a goblin king, yes, there’s little goblins–there’s everything in here. I really liked Elisabeth as a character, I did believe she was selfless, and not even once thought about her throughout this book. Her love for her family was what kept her alive in the end.
I didn’t like how we didn’t get to meet the Goblin King very much, I mean it was just bits and pieces of him, and well, I couldn’t actually get to know him well enough. He was very kind towards Elisabeth, once the mini-game was over, and he always seems to be gentle with her. Until he wasn’t ;). I meant that in a good way, btw.
Personally, I haven’t watched the movie “Labyrinth” myself, so maybe that’s why I didn’t find the story interesting.
I did enjoy the author’s writing, S. Jae-Jones, wrote so beautifully, and just like this story was focused on music, her writing was as well. Did anyone else notice?
Like her writing was so beautiful and lyrical, it was like reading a song the whole time. And is funny, because of the whole book centers around music.
Besides that, I believe that this book is good if you want to relax and enjoy a story that doesn’t make any sense at all in the real world, but if you give it a try you might find yourself headed to the underground.

What have we become?

Risen in the night,
when our world collides.
Taking pills to survive,
afraid to get caught on the riptide.
Desperate for that need of attention,
falling in love with loneliness.
Making us scream with desperation,
waking up motionless.
Our purpose in life we don’t know,
discovering the future is terrifying enough,
and yet we never seem to get enough.